50 megapixels from a Nikon d7000

Massive Panoramic

Now with people going crazy for huge images with the D800 and 5Dmk3 recently released, I thought i’d talk about pixels.

How big do you need to print? I can get a really nice 16 by 12 inch print from my D7000 and that’s overkill and I know I can go bigger, I’m just not selling bigger prints at the moment. I know that 10 megapixels is all you need to print an A3 canvas with ease.

Also think about how close to a print you would stand. The bigger the print the further back you would stand. If you ever get the chance to get your face next to a billboard you’ll see the pixels are the size of your finger. The further back to stand the bigger you can make the pixels… simples.

The original of this image is 49 mega pixels. To most of you it’s obvious how i did it and to others it might not be so obvious. That’s okay. I used a technique which has been used for a long time by digital photographers. It’s called photo-stitching.

This image is made from 6 images taken in quick succesion, and before you all say you need special equipment to do that, i’m here to say NO YOU DO NOT! I made this shot hand held. Yes you can definitely maximise your pixels and be more accurate with your composition if you shoot with a panoramic tripod head, but you don’t need one.

Now to the expensive part. The software. I use Photoshop CS5. But you don’t have to I know that photoshop elements does the same thing for less than £90. I’m sure there are cheeper options out there, maybe even FREE ones. I just haven’t used any. So please feel free to leave a comment if you can name any.

So this is one of those situations where you don’t need a massive sensor to make a massive image. You just need to learn a new technique. And buying a new piece of software for £90 is cheeper than buying a new 5Dmk3 or D800.

Gordon C Burns

Leave a Reply

