Rugby in Worsester

Now, I don’t often film sports. Not that I don’t enjoy it, just that it’s not within my spectrum of clients which I usually cater for. But I have to admit, this was a lot of fun. I took the ground level shots and my buddy James was up high overlooking the field. It was exhilarating being on the pitch during the game, running up and down, having to think fast and getting covered in mud.

By the end of it James and his camera were covered in frost. Good job we have profesional cameras.

It really does pay to invest in equipment which can handle the working environment your in. Now this video was shot with two £3000 camera’s. Not rented, they are ours. I know my camera inside and out. I know what it can and can’t do. I’ve seen people trying to film these sorts of events on consumer camera’s. They’re just not designed to do that.

I once spoke with someone who was livid that a consumer dSLR they bought for £600 froze up in the snow last winter, and the £99 third party lens just misted over and then got damp inside from the condensation.

Make sure you know what your camera can do. Learn it’s limitations and invest in gear that will handle what you plan on doing. Be it profesional or as a hobby or just making sure that you don’t miss out on capturing those awesome moments from your white-rapid rafting holiday.

Leave a Reply

