Head Shots in the Snow

After last post I told you about wanting to go out and make some images. I had already scouted the location the day before and found a nice coffee shop to meet up at. The model Scarlet West, is a singer and DJ who I met through a friend. I did a shout out on my Facebook page for an assistant photographer but due to snow, work or hangover I was on my own 😉

As I packed I was unsure of the light situation so packed a little remote flash-gun and stand just in case. But to be honest the natural light was perfect when I got there. The snow scattered the light everywhere creating a nice even lighting which looked really really nice.

And onto the images. [Click to see large images]

A note on editing for those interested. Firstly I did everything in Aperture 3. Usually I use Aperture just for organising my images then open the RAW files in Photoshop. However these are mostly JPEG’s as I felt I had enough information in the image files. As I was using the JPEGS I thought I’d try to simplify workflow even more. I’m happy with the results I got from aperture. Though for detailed retouching I would still use Photoshop as the clone and healing brush on Aperture are just too slow on my 4 year old MacBook Pro.

Any questions please leave them down below and for those interested in assisting please find my Facebook page and watch for shout outs. To book a shoot with me please email me directly by clicking here (gordoncburns@email.com).

Don’t forget to add this blog to your reading list and i’ll talk to you all next time.

Gordon C Burns

One thought on “Head Shots in the Snow

Leave a Reply

